PowerShell Azure commandlets arrived where Azure Portal was never be before

Two days ago, I used our test installation of System Center App Controller to create a new virtual machine in one of our Windows Azure accounts.

After the successful creation of the VM, I decided to destroy it. App Controller has sent the command to Azure and deleted the VM but left some garbage: the VM VHD disk into the blob container. Then I tried to delete the VHD via Azure Portal. The portal told me that the operation was successful but I continued to see the VHD (and to waste money on it).

After several more attempts, I decided to use PowerShell Azure commandlets and I was able to delete the VHD (and save money).

In the next days, I will investigate more on the problem. Meanwhile it is nice to know that you can continue to trust PowerShell for real management of systems.

Leave a Reply

